Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Still can't reply and have the problem in both browsers

JMH You Are Posting As A Guest - Please Register or Log In

Default Still seeing GlowHost welcome page after I deleted it

Hey everyone!

I am an extreme newbie and am having a tiny little problem. I have my "coming soon" page down and up, but how do I get it at my domain name... without a "/" something? I have deleted my index.html file and renamed my "coming soon" page "index.html" but it comes up as www.mydomain.com/index.html. I have cleared my cache and rebooted the computer... yet it still shows as this... which means when I tell people to check out my site I have to give them the entire address with the index.html. Very frustrating!

Matt is offline GlowHost Administrator

Do you have an real life example we can see that happening?

You are saying if you type in http://domain.com then it automatically adds index.html or that http://domain.com does not work at all and you have to use /index.html at the end to see the page?

If http://domain.com does not work, the webserver should give you an error, whats the error say?
    Send your friends and site visitors to GlowHost and get $125 plus bonus!
    GlowHost Affiliate Program | Read our Blog | Follow us on X |

JMH2 You Are Posting As A Guest - Please Register or Log In

Default How do I get rid of index.html at the end of my domain

Why can't we reply to the posts? Anyway. I was told by another Glowhost member that the homepage had to be named index.html. Now, it just redirects to the Glowhost parking page instead of my homepage. The example is www.theoxfordreview.com . No matter if you enter in theoxfordreview.com or theoxfordreview/index.html, it still redirects me to the parking page.

Quote Originally Posted by JMH2 View Post
    Why can't we reply to the posts?
    You need to register on the forums to be able to use all the features, like posting follow-ups. So have you registerred in the forums yet?