Thread: email not being deleted

rsriverrat is offline No longer a Newbie

Default email not being deleted

i apolloize if this has been covered somewhere else, however i have looked and cannot find an answer anywhere.

when using thunderbird if i delete an email(send to the trash bin) then tell thunderbird to empty trash it doesnt, i can then log into my webmail using horde and see the emails as being marked deleted with the strikethrough, however untill i actually tell horde to purge deleted it remains..

granted i have never used thunderbird before, however when i use it on my own private server here at my house it does as expected and deletes the mail, however not on any of my email accounts on GH...

any ideas?

Ratt

Matt is online now GlowHost Administrator

I assume you are using IMAP and not POP3.

In my Thunderbird I have it set like this:

Tools > Account Options > (some account here) > Server Settings > When I delete a message "Move it to the trash folder" and it goes to the trash immediately without having to delete and then purge.

You might try that option as it saves a step with the whole strikethrough thing. If that doesn't work for you then it may be a bug in your thunderbird version.
    Last edited by Matt; 01-25-2008 at 05:33 PM.
    Send your friends and site visitors to GlowHost and get $125 plus bonus!
    GlowHost Affiliate Program | Read our Blog | Follow us on X |

hmmmmm yes i have tried it with move to trash folder setting aswell as the remove it immediately setting, and all it ever does is soft delete it..

the funny thing is, in thunderbird it shows it as being moved to the trash folder or deleted respectively, however in horde none ever actually get moved the trash bin or deleted, they are ALWAYS soft deleted requiring a horde login to purge deleted...

thunderbird version 2.0.0.9 (20071031)

Ratt

ok i think i figured it out, however it took a little tinkering with horde....