Thread: Preview and Working on Site before resolving...?

monkette is offline Practically a Glow Sage

Question Preview and Working on Site before resolving...?

I have a webmaster that wants to give me all his hosting, but he wants to work on his site which involves MySQL databases and preview it, finish it. The current client of his already has an active domain and my guess is he is doing the new site and wants to complete it on my "server" and then when it's approved, point the current registrars DNS servers over to his newly "hosted by me" created site. Is this possible? and easy?

I was just going to give him an extra domain I had laying around to work in, but am slightly confused on how to get his completed site switched over to the new site once it is finished...

He is asking for an i.p. account for him to do so, what should I tell him and how can I help this happen? If I can be clearer, his current site www.site1.com is at another hosting company. He is updating the site to a newer look etcetera and wants to put up a complete site, hosted here by me, with the ability to preview it and then when his boss says (his client), switch the dns servers to my nameservers so the site will just switch. Now I know about having him change the dns servers over to mine, ns1.nativewebhost.com and ns2.nativewebhost.com but how will they resolve to www.site1.com when all his files and work are in www.tempsite.com on my "virtual server" ? Okay, thanks and should have I put this question in a support ticket?
    Thanks..in advance...
    "Chew slowly."

Matt is offline GlowHost Administrator

Just create an account in WHM with his real domain name. Then when you go into WHM and "list accounts" there is an IP address next to his account with a link to his site. You can preview it there before he points his DNS information.